Never take that for granted, ever!

 
This Entry is inspired by the life of the late Pastor Kyle Lake

In life there are two things we know for sure.

One: With every passing day death is drawing near

and

Two: Jack Bauer is invincible and will always save the world.

We live life almost taking every step for granted. Your guilty of it, Im definitely guilty of it. But what else in our lives do we take for granted?

I Remember when I was in High School I had it made. I had a great job that made people jealous, Awesome friends that I could call upon any time of the night and my 1993 Nissan Sentra. On top of that I had my Dads company gas card in my wallet at all times. These things were a given. I had Marcus’ house to go hang out at with the boys every Friday night guaranteed. I had a job where I actually got payed to play arcade games and lazer tag. I had the car I could haul around my friends and girls I wanted to impress. On top of that I didn’t even need to pay to do the hauling! Those were the things I knew I had beyond a shadow of a doubt. But life’s situations has a way of doing a complete reverse 180 on you. After High school was over those Friday nights with the boys started to become less frequent. That wicked Job that suited me in High School wasn’t gonna cut it with only a few hours to offer during the week. The Car? well the next March I got in a minor accident and it shot the insurance up so High that the company didn’t even want to insure me anymore. I haven’t driven since. Without a car the gas card was useless so I reluctantly turned it over. You see those things I took for granted. I thought those summers of no responsibilities and driving around would last me forever! I was unstoppable.

In my story, sure the things were minor but never the less I took all those things for granted and now they are no longer here. People every day are taking things for granted.

Perhaps for the wealthy its their money and security.
For the family man his wife and kids, for the 6 year old his Mom will always be there to Love him. But what happens when that is all stripped away and your left with nothing?

It reminds me of a man named Job. This guy had everything. Think about someone you know that has it all, the bling, the crib, the hot girls, the perfect sons and daughters. Whoever your thinking of thats what Job was.This guy was loaded, Litterally the Richest man in his country. One day before Job could even speak he was informed all his wealth was gone, all his servants had been killed, and worst of all his whole family save his wife died in a tragic accident.

How would you handle this? I don’t even know where to begin about myself. I think Id be in a ball on the ground unable to think or move. Seriously how would you handle all that news at once?

This is how Job handled it.

21He said,

   
    “I came naked from my mother’s womb,
       and I will be stripped of everything when I die.
    The LORD gave me everything I had,
       and the LORD has taken it away.
    Praise the name of the LORD!”

Can you freaking imagine?? this seriously blows me away. Who in there right mind would ever praise God for that happening to them??

I cant imagine someone walking up to me and all in one breath saying; 

“By the way Justin Sarah just died in a tragic car accident, oh ya the student loan place called and they say they need all 50 thousand dollars tomorrow or its court, Did I also mention that when your family was flying to Florida their plane went down and they died? Unfortunatly The insurance policy expired the day before they left so you’ve inherited the debt for everything”.

To think I was upset about the car being taken away! I don’t even know how I would handle that news, but I do know how freaking hard it would be to get on my knees and Thank and Praise God!
Now those things all happening in one day likely would never happen unless I was in fact Jack Bauer. So lets look at things on a lower scale.

Perhaps your around some great friends and your only going to be around them for a year. Don’t take those friendships for granted Because you never know when you’ll miss them.

Perhaps your in a serious relationship, Never take that person for granted always appreciate everything they are and everything they bring to the table on a daily basis. You never really know how much longer you have with them either in this life.

Perhaps just maby thanking God and praising him when everything is going amazing instead of letting him fall by the wayside could just possibly lead you to do it when all that you’ve known is suddenly stripped from you.

See that’s How I think Job did it. He loved God for the good times. After he just had a simple conversation with his son He thanked God for the opportunity. When he was among great friends and people He later thanked God for being so kind. Then when bad things hit he knew that God could just as easily take away and He thanked God without understanding even when his human flesh probably really wasn’t thankful.

There was a young pastor by the name of Kyle Lake that was suddenly and tragically taken from this life at the young age of 33. He left behind a wife one daughter and two twin boys. Do you think his family was ready for such a tradegy? Do you think Kyle was ready to leave this earth at such a young age? Fortunatly for Kyle he understood how much every waking moment meant to him on earth. The morning he passed away he was going to preach a sermon. I will leave you with an excerpt from Pastor Kyle Lakes final sermon . Read these words pray about them and realize that You can never take this life or things in it for granted. If you do, when tragedy strikes you will be completely paralyzed.

Live. And Live Well.
BREATHE. Breathe in and Breathe deeply. Be PRESENT. Do not be past. Do not be future. Be now.
On a crystal clear, breezy 70 degree day, roll down the windows and FEEL the wind against your skin. Feel the warmth of the sun.
If you run, then allow those first few breaths on a cool Autumn day to FREEZE your lungs and do not just be alarmed, be ALIVE.
Get knee-deep in a novel and LOSE track of time.
If you bike, pedal HARD… and if you crash then crash well.
Feel the SATISFACTION of a job well done—a paper well-written, a project thoroughly completed, a play well-performed.
If you must wipe the snot from your 3-year old’s nose, don’t be disgusted if the Kleenex didn’t catch it all… because soon he’ll be wiping his own.
If you’ve recently experienced loss, then GRIEVE. And Grieve well.
At the table with friends and family, LAUGH. If you’re eating and laughing at the same time, then might as well laugh until you puke. And if you eat, then SMELL. The aromas are not impediments to your day. Steak on the grill, coffee beans freshly ground, cookies in the oven. And TASTE. Taste every ounce of flavor. Taste every ounce of friendship. Taste every ounce of Life. Because-it-is-most-definitely-a-Gift.”

-Pastor Kyle Lake  (June 12, 1972 – October 30-2005)

If you want more information on Pastor Kyle Lake check out his books at www.relevantbooks.com. Also visit his church’s site which has set up a trust for his family and kids at http://www.ubcwaco.org/2004/ubc_holder.html.

Other Kyle lake Links:

http://emergent-us.typepad.com/emergentus/2005/11/scott_gornto_re.html    
http://leadershipblog.blogspot.com/2005/10/leadership-blog-interview-kyle-lake.html.
http://www.christianitytoday.com/music/interviews/2006/davidcrowderband-0406.html
http://www.christianitytoday.com/ct/2005/144/14.0.html

2 Comments

Filed under Blogroll, Christian Living, Christianity, Kyle Lake, Life, life issues, Thoughts on Life

2 responses to “Never take that for granted, ever!

  1. hey justin your sitting on the couch, yelling at the television watching the news… um ya you told me to sign this so i am… so ummm im going to go now.

    YourSister

    JodiConnors

  2. I stumbled upon this site as I was in the process of doing some online research. Yes, life is a fragile thing and we often don’t live if fully, lovingly and well. thanks for the reminder.

Leave a Reply

